Two Local Students Selected for National Youth Tour

Umatilla Electric is proud to announce that two local high school juniors have been chosen as the delegates for an all-expenses paid trip to Washington D.C. this June. Sanyana Felipe, from Irrigon, and Claire Owens, from Hermiston, have been chosen to represent UEC on a weeklong trip to the nation’s capital to celebrate the 2023 Electric Cooperative Youth Tour.

UEC’s 2023 Youth Tour delegates will represent Oregon and the Northwest and will join more than 1,500 other students from across the United States for the once-in-a-lifetime trip. During the visit and trip, Sanyana and Claire will visit famous historical sites, meet with Oregon’s congressional leaders, and learn valuable leadership skills.

Sanyana attends school online from home where she assists in teaching her two siblings. She plays violin and piano and received an award from the Oregon Music Teachers Association. Sanyana is active in her church, participating in the orchestra, sewing committee, and playing an active role in the church’s annual Journey to Bethlehem event. In addition to her community participation, Sanyana received a Certificate of Achievement for exploring agriscience. After completing high school, she plans to enroll at Blue Mountain Community College to study nursing, with a goal of becoming a Nurse Practitioner.

Claire is first in her class at Hermiston High School and participates in Drama Club, Band, Choir and Marching Band. She received the Physical Education Student of the Year award and multiple awards for her performances in Drama Club. In addition to her involvement in school, Claire is also a young women’s youth leader at her church. After high school, she would like to study to become an architectural engineer with a minor in business.

Says Robert Echenrode, CEO & GM at UEC, “We are excited to have this opportunity available to the youth in our communities again. It’s a program that we hold in high regard at UEC. We are proud of all those who submitted applications and wish to thank all for being standout young adults across our region.”